Hold Me Closer by David Levithan

Standard

TINY

Love is the most common miracle. Love is always a miracle, everywhere, every time. But for us, it’s a little different. I don’t want to say it’s more miraculous- it, though. Our miracle is different because some people say it’s impossible. But let me tell you-it’s possible. Very possible.

 

Tiny leaps off the swing and lands in what seems to be a heap .

 

TINY

I fall and I fall and I fall and I fall and I fall…

 

The swing set is wheeled off, and the EX- BOYFRIENDS march onstage to the start of their song.

 

[“PARADE OF EX-BOYFRIENDS”]

CHORUS OF EX-BOYFRIENDS:

We are the parade of ex-boyfriends!

EX-BOYFRIEND #1

You’re too clingy

EX-BOYFRIEND #2

You’re too sing-y.

EX-BOYFRIEND #3

You’re so massive

EX-BOYFRIEND #4

I`m just too passive.

EX-BOYFRIEND #5

I`d rather be friends

 

EX-BOYFRIEND #6

I don’t date tight ends.

EX-BOYFRIEND #7

I found another guy.

EX-BOYFRIEND #8

I don’t have to tell you why.

EX-BOYFRIEND #9

I don’t feel the spark.

EX-BOYFRIEND #10

It was only just a lark.

EX-BOYFRIEND #11

You mean you won’t put out?

EX-BOYFRIEND #12

I can’t conquer my doubt.

EX-BOYFRIEND #13

I have other things to do.

EX-BOYFRIEND #14

I have other guys to screw.

EX-BOYFRIEND #15

Our love has all been in your head.

EX-BOYFRIEND #16

I`m worried that you’ll break my bed.

EX-BOYFRIEND #17

I think I`ll just stay home and read.

 

EX-BOYFRIEND #18

I think you’re in love with my need.

 

CHORUS OF EX-BOYFRIENDS

Tiny cooper, have no doubt:
You’re the one we can live without.

TINY (in a Sondheimian frenzy):

What’d I do?
What’d I say?
Why did these boys
all go away?
I tried hard to be
who they’d want me to be
though most of the time
I couldn’t help being me.
Was I too loud?
Too quiet?
Why work on the package
when there’s no one to buy it?
Am I not enough of a gay?
Not enough of a guy?
My love life’s a train wreck
so I might as well fly. . .

CHORUS OF EX-BOYFRIENDS

Parade!
Of the ex-boyfriends!
Any relationship that starts
Inevitably ends!

 

-Page 85-88
Hold me closer, (Will Grayson, Will Grayson #2)
David Levithan.

 

The Author.

 

Leave a Reply

